Book of Lamentations

The Book of Lamentations is a poetic book that desperately cries the destruction of Jerusalem by King Nebuchadnezzar in 587 BCE . The authorship of this book is said by some to be the prophet Jeremiah, although most scholars mention it was written by an anonymous writer.

This book, composed of five chapters, is read mostly during the observance of Tisha B’Av during synagogue services, but it can also be read individually at home. The chapters main language talk about Jerusalem, G-d’s ire, the people’s rebellion, destruction, and affliction. The theme emphasizes the profound, personal suffering and spiritual agony experienced by the Israelites upon the fall of Jerusalem.

Following is the audio for the book, and you may follow by reading the text by clicking here.

The Spanish audio files (no text found in Spanish) follow at the bottom of the page.


Chapter 1 – Jerusalem’s fall (Read)


Chapter 2 – G-d’s anger agaisnt Jerusalem (Read)


Chapter 3 – Jerusalem’s affliction (Read)


Chapter 4 – Israel’s consequences (Read)


Chapter 5 – Supplication for renewal (Read)



Capítulo 1 – La desolación de Jerusalén


Capítulo 2 – La indignación de Di-s contra Israel


Capítulo 3 – La aflicción de Jerusalén


Capítulo 4 – Las consecuencias de la infidelidad de Israel


Capítulo 5 – Súplica por la conversión y restauración de Israel